A Year of Personal Growth

A very dear coworker just came to my office to ask what I am most thankful for this year. It didn’t take me long at all to give her my answer; Personal Growth!

I have grown so much as a person in my year number 34 on this earth. I have learned and lived the definition of true character. In the words of John Wooden, “The true test of a man’s character is what he does when no one is watching.”

There are many many forks along this long road of life. This year I was presented with several but for the most part I have opted to travel the same old lonely road of self-sacrifice. The other well beaten path of selfishness just isn’t for me anymore.

I believe in one true God and His son Jesus Christ. Although people around me and in this world may still be walking that road of selfishness and not for one minute thinking about others, I am determined to earn my place in heaven through good deeds and selflessness. I am confident of my reason for life and that is to touch people lives.

Leading a life of self sacrifice is not easy but doable. Although I question why people are the way they are there is nothing I can do about the way they choose to think and live. The one thing I can do is control how I think and how I live my life.

Happy New Year!! May 2016 bring you lots of love and great life experiences!!

self–sacrifice

noun self–sac·ri·fice \ˈself-ˈsa-krə-ˌfīs also -fəs or -ˌfīz\

Simple Definition of self–sacrifice

  • : the act of giving up something that you want to have or keep in order to help someone else

Popularity: Bottom 10% of words

Leave a comment